NCCA Junior Cycle Level 2 Learning Program

A Level 2 Learning Programme will target the very specific group of students with general learning disabilities in the higher functioning moderate and low functioning mild categories. The programme will be capable of personalisation to suit the individual needs of the target group of students.

These students are small in number (one or two in a typical school, more in a special school) and all have student support plans. The Level 2 Learning Programme will be based around Priority Learning Units (PLUs).

The PLUs focus on developing the basic social, pre-vocational and life skills of the students involved. There are five Level 2 PLUs:

  • Communicating and literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Personal care
  • Living in a community
  • Preparing for work 


NCCA Junior Cycle Level 2 Guidelines